Quit Being so Sensitive

wateronduck

“Indeed, there is not a righteous man on earth who continually does good and who never sins. Also, do not take seriously all words which are spoken, so that you will not hear your servant cursing you. For you also have realized that you likewise have many times cursed others.” Ecclesiastes 7:20-22

I just love the book of Ecclesiastes! It’s almost like your disenamored, yet cool, uncle is sitting back and telling you what’s what. He’s been all around the world and he’s just letting you know what he’s found out and how he’s grown. He’s done everything you could imagine (7:15). He knows what’s vanity and what’s worth doing twice. In chapter 7 he comes down to what you can expect out of others and what you should expect from yourself. Let me summarize this great statement in 7:20-22. You’ve messed up before. People are going to say stuff. You’ve said stuff. Don’t take that stuff to heart.

How many times have we said something out of frustration towards someone we love and respect? In 2006 I had a boss who took a huge chance on hiring me. I had never worked in that industry before, but he saw potential in a teenager who wanted to learn. He was a great encourager and an awesome man to work for. But, there were those times I just wanted to lock him in a closet and go home for the night. During lunch breaks I would engage in lighthearted teasing with him and the other car salesmen. He teased back. It’s the way we worked and we worked well. There were also those times, I got on his nerves with my incessant questions, and the other employees let me know. It hurt for a bit, but then I realized there was also truth to his frustrations.

What’s that phrase? Water off of a duck’s back? Yeah, that’s the one. Don’t take things so personally. Getting all riled up over things people say really is vanity. It won’t change what they said, nor will it change how they feel. If you’re like me and even a little bit defensive then this lesson is for you. If you have thin skin and your feelings are hurt constantly, then this passage should be tattooed into the thin skin on your feelings. I think Solomon might have put it this way if he lived in 2014 Estados Unidos de America, “Get over it and quit being so sensitive.”

